Reflecting on my poly days: Part Two

It’s been 17 days since my previous post (Do read it first, before reading this). I would explain the reason for my delay at the end of this post. Haha, so read on till the end!

After

Do I regret going to poly or taking a diploma in accountancy? Of course not! I don’t regret it now (but I did at one point. :X). No, I didn’t get to play cards during breaks. MSN died off (together with Friendster) and I can barely remember ever using them during my poly days. Carrying around my 2.5kg-heavy laptop was such a burden, literally. The hair that I dyed golden brown was dyed back to black because I realised that I preferred black hair. Perhaps, the reasons underlying my decision to go to poly wasn’t logical at all. Poly was not all that cool. Nevertheless, in hindsight, I think it has molded me and given me a good foundation. The books that I had read and the movies that I had watched during that time guide me when I write and sometimes even in the way I lead my life. I am where I am because of that decision and I still stand by it. If I could go back in time, will I change my decision? NO!

What have I learned?

Sometimes you would think that you badly need something, but you don’t. You can exist without it. Remember, you came into his world with absolutely nothing. Sometimes, you not getting something might be the best thing that could happen to you. Maybe if I had not gotten my first choice: Accountancy, and gotten my third choice: Arts and Social Sciences, I might enjoy studying more. I don’t know. Most of my friends have completed their degree programme or are going to complete soon (before me, haha!). One is in Australia and probably getting settled there. Another is an air stewardess and flying around everywhere. Each of them is successful in their own way, doing what they want to do. It’s interesting because we used to talk about how we were probably going to go to a local uni, get the degree, work for three years in an audit firm and move on to do an accounting role or something. Only one of us is actually going to do that. Even that, I am not too sure. How our lives have turned out is all very surprising! It hasn’t always been what we wanted but it has definitely been what we needed. I haven’t figured out what I want to do yet. It’s funny because I don’t feel the pressure yet.

Some ask me why I wasted a year in poly when I could have just gone to JC. Everyone around us is trying to make it sound like life is a race and you have to finish it first so as to get the prize. There’s no prize! What is time? You have all the time in this world in your hands. We’re still young(and wild and free. Haha!) Nothing in this life is ever a waste. In movies/books, they sometimes show you some insignificant detail about the character which turns out to be an important factor in the subsequent scenes. That’s called characterisation. I learned this in my sec 1 literature class and I can still remember it. Haha! Similarly, all these experiences build your character, personality, and attitude. The most important thing is to learn, make new friends, acquire experiences, skills, and knowledge. At the same time, have some fun. Your experiences might be useful in the future. Or maybe not. But as the late Steve Jobs said, we can’t connect the dots looking forward. We can only connect the dots looking backward. We have to have some faith that the dots will connect and that you will find some meaning. Till then, keep going. Be positive!

 

On that note, there are three reasons for my long departure from writing.

Firstly, I have started on my internship and that drains a lot of my energy and time(of course, it should!). Secondly, (drumrolls please), I am acting in Sangae Muzhangu! I am so excited for this. My nights are taken up by Sangae rehearsals and my days are taken up by my internship so the only time I can write is during my train rides. But during my morning train rides, I am listening to and getting completely absorbed into songs and during my night train rides, I am playing Paatukku Paatu(song games) with my friends. Hence, I write during weekends and my past few weekends have been pretty packed. Thirdly, I don’t want to write too often. I need to tease a bit. Make y’all wait for a while. This is just me following the words of one of my lecturer in SP; “If you’re worth it, they will wait”. From now on, I will write when I really feel like saying something and not obligate myself to write every week. My next post will be continuing from the Anjadi Kuppeh and Kuthu songs post.

Till then, stay curious!

Leave a Reply

